Easy weekday salmon

Ready to cook!
Ready to cook!

As much as I know I need to do meal-prep Sundays, sometimes I just can’t hack spending hours in the kitchen on a Sunday afternoon. All I want to do is lie down on the sofa and read a good book, not steam my sweet potato and pre-cook chicken!

A recipe like this is just a complete life saver during the week when I haven’t got a pre-cooked meal to eat after work. I work quite long hours, and go to Crossfit ( ❤ ) after work, so it’s normally at least 9pm by the time I collapse through the door! This salmon is just so simple, easy to prepare hits the spot after a long and tiring day!

I just love the taste of freshly cooked salmon, when it’s flaky and has that melt-in-your mouth texture. It’s so light but protein-packed as well, just what you need after a sweaty session at the gym! As well as protein, salmon is a great source of vitamin B12, vitamin D and selenium which is so, so important for a range of body functions including thyroid hormone metabolism and male fertility to name a couple! It’s also a brilliant source of niacin and of course omega-3 fatty acids which act as such a powerful anti-inflammatory meaning clear, lovely and calm skin!

This recipe requires so few ingredients and is ready to go in 30 minutes – it takes minutes to put together and the oven does the rest! I normally pair it with green beans, oven baked cherry tomatoes (I’m a complete tomato-addict) and a fresh leafy salad.

So simple but tasty
So simple but tasty

Ingredients (serves one)

  • One fillet of salmon
  • Salt and black pepper (I use Himalayan pink salt but good quality rock salt would work wonderfully too)
  • One tbsp capers
  • One thinly sliced lemon
  • Handful of fresh thyme
Ready to go!
Ready to go!

Method

  • Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius
  • Line a baking tray with baking parchment and place the salmon on top, skin side down
  • Season the salmon with the salt and pepper and arrange the capers on the salmon
  • Carefully place the sliced lemon on top, along with the thyme (you could drizzle the salmon with avocado oil, but I find it’s juicy enough without!)
  • Place the baking tray in the oven and bake for 25 minutes until the salmon is cooked throughout
  • Serve immediately with some fresh vegetables and salad
Perfect weekday dinner <3
Perfect weekday dinner ❤

Leave a comment